Want A Women To Remember ?????

Now for all the men out there who thought women were just talkers and they don’t listen and remember anything you say here is a piece of advice try modulating your voice to a deeper voice . You think I am joking?????  You bet not…. According to a recent study by David Smith and colleagues from the University of Aberdeen in the UK a males voice is important for both mate choice and the accuracy of women’s memory.

In a series of two experiments, Smith and colleagues show that “memory in women is sensitive to male voice pitch, a cue important for mate choice because it can indicate genetic quality as well as signal behavioral traits undesirable in a long-term partner.”.

Wow that makes me think the deeper we dwell into the world of female psychology the more complicated or should I say the more basic it gets. Think about it centuries of evolution and innovation and the animal instincts in human kicks in someway or the others.  Now let me explain that bit. Remember those episodes of National Geography or Discovery showing how mating calls of men are important to attract the potential mate???

Well to get back to the experiments. In the first experiment, 45 women were initially shown an image of a single object while listening to the name of the object spoken either by a high or low pitch male or female manipulated voice. They were then shown two similar but not identical versions of the object and asked to identify the one they had seen earlier. The women were also asked which voice they preferred.

 

In the second experiment, as well as manipulated voices, the researchers used real male and female voices to test how 46 new women rated the voices and how they scored on object memory.In both cases, the authors found that women had a strong preference for the low pitch male voice and remembered objects more accurately when they have been introduced by the deep male voice. the significant imapct was not seen in men.

Now I know I am here to talk about consumer psychology and not animal instants. So how is this related to the world of marketing?

From the study Smith concluded: “that women’s memory is enhanced with lower pitch male voices, compared with the less attractive raised pitch male voices. The two experiments indicate for the first time that signals from the opposite-sex affect the accuracy of women’s memory.” Fascinating isn’t it Fancy hearing a man convincing you to buy a Domestos cleaner or a Loreal face wash???

This mean that an advert of a product that uses a low pitch male voice over is remembered more by women than an advert that uses a female voice over? Looking at it from another perspective could a male salesmen be better at selling high involvement products to women The use of females in adverts for men has been a prominent tool for marketers to grab male attention. With this study there could there be a role reversal. Maybe that’s the reason why Mr Muscle bought is a male figure with a low pitch to convince the ladies. What do you think??? Does the gender difference in voice over really have an impact on memory???

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. I believe that voice can influence what we buy and plays important role in ads. The voice must sound convincing and if it is a different voice to others it helps consumers to remember the ad better. However as a consumer I am not sure that male voice would influence me to buy a product more. It of course depends what product but I would say that Mr. Muscle man should show us the power and how strong it is, and I would buy it because of this reason and not because man in the ad, but it can also have many other meanings. Male voice would not make me to buy things like lipstick or make up for example, I would think it is very strange and not natural.

  2. hmmmm…..Voice really effect our behaviour towards advert……I haven’t actually thought about it but after reading your blog I just went off through my past experiences and I found that I was really effected by the voice but the advert look aswell haan …..but I don’t think only man’s voice or something like that i was also been influenced towards few adds which female was doing but even though her voice influenced me……The muscle Man I really like its power manly power and i go for it aswell lolz……..

  3. I had never really thought about how the sound of a voice could influence me, but now I think about it I think your definitely right! Today I saw an iadvert for a new coffee machine, and coffee drink related products, the advertisement used George Clooney in the promotion his voice alone, being deep caught my attention, and used with the coffee promotion, made me really want it. I f I would have seen this advert, using a different voice, one not as deep I do feel that I would not have payed as much attention. This advert is very similar to the one for carte noir coffee that uses a relatively attractive man in a suit, who is talking about emptying the dishwasher, while we watch. There is then a beep, and he goes to his coffee. The advert uses to man’s voice to capture a women’s attention, as women can find this trait as being ‘sexy’ and immediately all their attention is drawn to the advertisement. I know this works myself as when I was in morrisons during the week, I walked past this coffee and immediately recalled the advert. Overall I agree, the voice for the gender has to be right, and in personal experience it does have an effect on memory, if the right voice is used for the appropriate products. For example the man in coffee adverts works well, whereas a woman would not work as well advertising to women.

  4. I can’t stand it anymore! First of all it was “must have good sense of humour”, then a few years ago it was “facial symmetry” and now it’s all in the voice? How many boxes do we poor men have to tick?! Nonetheless, an interesting blog post.

    I guess it is a question of what courts our attention (consciously or subliminally), and for heterosexuals it is often the affectations of the opposite sex; I guess there is also the fluency aspect of how appropriate the voice gender and qualities are to the product being pitched – for Galaxy (“why have chocolate when you can have silk”) a velvety voice is best, whilst for Pepparami (“it’s a bit of an animal”) a crazy raggedy voice is best suited. I also agree with one of the previous commentators, that within the clutter and distraction of TV advertisements what would grab my attention most would not be so much whether the voice was male or female but how much it stands out from all the other voices.

    I was recently reading an article about voice-overs (Hearing Voices, Chattopadhyay et al) which was pointing to the speed of the voice-over as being key – i.e. the quicker it is, the more complicated it is perceived as being (task difficulty) and therefore the more disinclined viewers are to attend to it. This study also noted that high-pitched male voices tend to be perceived as less truthful, less persuasive, weaker, and more nervous – which are usually not qualities you want associated with your brand. I suppose that is why increasingly adverts use celebrity voice-overs – celebrities are forms of ‘brand’ that have accrued qualities over time through associations with characters they play or the star persona they construct. Therefore matching the right celebrity voice-over to your product can produce a little ‘affect transfer’ and imbue your product with the warm qualities of the star… at least until they cheat on their wife, get caught injecting heroin into their eyeball or repeatedly run over an orphan’s dog.

  5. I think regional accents can also have a large impact on the views towards products – an example of this would be when Boddingtons used to brew in Manchester, Mel Sykes starred in the adverts and she has a very distinctive northern accent, which helped reinforce the roots of the product (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQfXkK1FD3s). This research explains in part why accents can be important, as basically if the product fits with the regional accent, they communicate the right message.

    http://www.uv.es/~pennock/adobe/Styling_the_voice-selling_the_product.pdf


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

